We Bought a Zoo

by lozziirawr

Directed by: Cameron Crowe
Released in: 2011
Cast include: Matt Damon, Scarlett Johansson, Thomas Haden Church, Colin Ford, Maggie Elizabeth Jones and Elle Fanning

we_bought_a_zoo_entrance_a_l

I have been saying for years now since it first came out that I am going to watch this film (based on a true story) and for some reason been putting it off. Maybe due to my love for animals it might not measure up to my expectations. Today, i finally watched it for the first time and it more than reached my expectations. It is a film for all of the family and I would recommend it no matter what your age is as it has a way of connecting with an audience of all ages.

The film is about a widowed dad finding a new home for him and his two kids that doesn’t remind him of his deceased wife and in the process ending up falling in love with a run-down zoo and buying it on a whim. He ends up facing many problems including lack of money and also knowledge and I don’t want to spoil it for the viewer but a devastating decision for one of the animals.

I cannot fault a single actor on their abilities. Even young Maggie Elizabeth Jones was brilliant. Spar the tiger (played by a tigress named Katie) stole the show for me though and she gave me the first of many tears. In fact, I cannot even count the amount of times I cried throughout this film – lots of tears of sadness, but also tears of happiness too.

10/10

 

 

